Shhhh… You Don't Know Me

January 31, 2010

“Clean out the Fridge Mexican Stoup”

Filed under: Daily Jabber,Food — Shhhh @ 2:41 am
Tags: , , ,

I was going to go grocery shopping today, but the couch was seriously calling my poor achey head.  Okay, it was calling my ass, and my aching head begged my ass to give in.

So I rummaged in the fridge and decided to just use up what I have.  This is what went into the crock pot:

  • baby bok choy
  • broccoli
  • mushrooms
  • carrots
  • corn
  • black beans
  • green beans
  • chili powder
  • oregano
  • cumin
  • cayenne pepper (just a pinch)
  • salt
  • onion soup mix
  • water
  • pork stock ice cubes (6)

I just had a cup, and it is rather delicious.  A tad fiery, but not bad at all (I have pussy taste buds, so don’t do “hot” well).  I like the bit if bite because with my nose stuffed, it’s the closest I get to flavour.

A nutritious soup that I will be noming all weekend, I’m sure.  Tomorrow or Monday I’ll hit the grocery store.

On another note, I might be fostering a wiener bitch!  Her mommy answered an ad I had on CraigsList. She has to move in with her mom for a few months.  The economy hit her industry hard, and she’s been layed off.  She has a life plan in play, but needs a home for her pup till she can get out of her mom’s.  Her mom lives in a building that does not allow animals.  We talked on the phone today at length, and I am so excited to help her.  She was in tears, so happy.  I feel like a really good person today.  Helping out a complete stranger.

On another ‘nother note, I came home last night and hubby was waving an ad for laminate slate under my nose, saying this was the stuff he has been thinking he wants for the kitchen and entrance hall.  I encouraged him to get it NOW, while we can get the tax break (Canada’s home renovation tax break to help the economy).  Little did I know that this would mean coming home and ripping out the carpet.

Apparently when you do this sort of thing, you get extra to work with, and if you don’t need it in the end, you have 30 days to return the extra.  Which means project is NOW.  My house is in utter chaos.  I did take “before” pics, and will show the results.  Should be amazing.  My husband is a very very talented carpenter.  🙂

Speaking of which, he’s watching the hockey game.  Poor bastard. His team is awful tonight.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

