Shhhh… You Don't Know Me

January 28, 2010

Eggplant Casserole Revisited

Filed under: Food — Shhhh @ 3:04 am
Tags: , , ,

I was going through some old posts on NutriMirror, and I came across this one that I posted back in April of last year.  I had totally forgotten about this recipe, and the picture had me totally drooling.  So off I went to the store, and guess what I had for dinner tonight?  And yes, it was JUST as good as I remember.  YUM!!

*********************************************************************

Holy CRAP was this good! Thanks to Mouseroo (fellow blogger) for the link to her post on a dish when I posted a question on my blog of what to do with an eggplant, having impulse bought my first one. I also got from someone (damned if I can remember who right now, sorry) for a core (WW term) version of the same dish.

From these two dishes I decided to create a lasagna. I had some ground beef in the fridge that needed to be used today.
I gotta tell ya… I was worried. I have only had eggplant in a Greek dish (moussaka?) and it was… well… disgusting (sorry to Greek’s everywhere). Truly a terrible dish. And I’ve tried it more than once. You never know if it’s because of the dish or the maker of the dish. It’s the dish. Plech.

So needless to say, that impulse to buy an eggplant left me in a tizzy when I got it home. Logan has had it in ratatoulie (sp?) in foods class, so he informed me all about “sweating” it with salt. Eep, scary! Lucky he said it, because I didn’t know.

Here’s my recipe:

1 large eggplant, cut into 1/2 inch wide circles
1 container of Blue Menu Primavera Sauce (found in the deli section of SuperStore)
3/4 pound of ground lean beef
3/4 onion
1 T minced garlic
4 oz light mozza, grated

Salt the CRAP out of the eggplant slices and let sit for ten minutes then rinse. While slices are sitting, brown the ground beef with the onion and garlic. Rinse. Put back into the pan and add the container of Primavera and mix.

Lay the slices out on a cookie sheet and sprinkle with whatever spices you like (I used oregano and basil). Broil until brown, flip and do other side. I spritzed them with my Misto. Once browned on both sides, remove from oven and turn heat to 375.

In a corningware dish (or whatever holds about four great big pieces of lasagna, so square, vs rectangle) layer meat/sauce, eggplant slices, meat/sauce, eggplant slices, meat/sauce, cheese.
Cover and bake for 20 minutes. Uncover and broil, watching carefully, until cheese is nicely brown/orange. Remove from oven and let sit for ten minutes. Slice and serve!

Calories: 370

Oh, and the reason for the 3/4 onion and ground beef is because I did a whole pound and a whole onion, then took out a portion to freeze to use at a later date for a lunch or something.

2 Comments »

  1. man oh man, this looks delish! I’ve never had eggplant – I think I need to try out your recipe!! Yums!

    Comment by Charmed I'm Sure — February 3, 2010 @ 12:44 am | Reply

    • lol… if you can call it a recipe. I never follow recipes, just mash good stuff together.

      Comment by Shhhh — February 3, 2010 @ 3:05 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

