Shhhh… You Don't Know Me

January 9, 2010

What a night…

Filed under: Daily Jabber — Shhhh @ 8:27 pm

I had the WORST experience last night.

My car blew a something as I was mergin onto the highway… luckily from a standstill. I was able to ease it over to the side of the road, into a truck pullout that was right there. Then, I put it in park, took my foot off the brake, and the car moved forward! I slammed the brake back on and put on the emergency and shut the car off. The store let me use the phone. I called home EIGHT times, no answer. Hubby was asleep and didn’t HEAR it, he says. I phoned my sister once, but then didn’t try again, because due to a psycho stalker ex, they never pick up on numbers they don’t know. I stood there panicking, with tears in my eyes, trying to figure out my next move when the owner of the store came up and offered assistance. He drove me home where I was able to grab my other car and continue work.

I came home and FREAKED OUT. What if I had been seriously injured? Pick up the fucking PHONE when you hear someone ringing it over and fucking OVER for fucks sake!!!

I was up until 4am, tossing and turning. I had a hot bath to relax and calm down when I got home. I apologized to Hubby for losing my marbles ( I was literally shrieking at him). And then I confessed to him that the reason I was so mad was because I had been so scared. I knew the car was going to blow, and I had just thought “if I can just get it home, I’ll switch cars”.

I was so shaken over what could have happened if I hadn’t been starting from a stopped position when whatever happened happened. I was turning onto the highway… what if it was two minutes later and I was doing 80? Would I have had control? How would the car have reacted? As it was I was just able to “drift” it to the side, doing less than 10k.

And then as I listened to ringing over and over I felt so vulnerable. And vulnerable is one thing I don’t do well (among many).

I’m going to write a letter to the editor of our local paper telling our town of our hero… although I didn’t even catch his name.

1 Comment »

  1. wow – that is scary! Glad you are safe now 🙂

    Comment by Charmed I'm Sure — January 10, 2010 @ 11:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

