Shhhh… You Don't Know Me

November 11, 2009

I did it.

Filed under: Daily Jabber — Shhhh @ 7:50 pm

I filed a report with the SPCA.

Here’s what it says:

On Tuesday, October 27th I was walking my dogs and we were heading home.  We were (luckily) about six minutes from home when from 21411 121st Ave, Maple Ridge, comes bounding a golden lab/pit-bull/Sheppard cross (I later found out the breed from the owner lady) by the name of Ruby, according to the screaming girls chasing it.   It spots us, comes running over and picks Morgana (my Cairn terrier) up by the back and shakes her.  The teenage girls are screaming, beating the dog with a wrapping paper roll (or something similar, it was all so chaotic, I’m not sure now).  Oscar (my Daschund) is losing his mind and trying to bite Ruby.  Ruby drops Morgana and goes after Oscar.  I yanked the leash and got Oscar out, and the dog picks Morgana up again and shook her right out of her collar.  Finally the dog drops Morgie and races off, with the girls in hot pursuit.  I note the address and pick up my dog and start running for home.  I look down, and she’s bleeding on my jacket from a gaping wound on her back.

Two hours of surgery, one week of recovery, infection sets in, and my dog is now gone.

I talked to the wife that night, and the husband the next day.  The wife told me that Ruby attacked because she was raised with a little dog that used to bite her all the time.  She’s good with big dogs, but little dogs, she’s aggressive, Cassandra said.  The shaking?  Yeah, that’s the pit bull in her, Cassandra explains. I don’t have anything against pitty’s, and think they have a bad rap.  The only reason I’m telling this is because it shows how horrific it really was.

So when I told her how much ($860), she was horrified, and told me that they are claiming bankruptcy.  She said that her husband would have put the dog down (strange comment to make, but I think she was trying to set me up for the fact that they were not going to pay).  She went on and on about what a cheap guy he was.  By the end of the conversation, in which I tried to stay positive and not shriek “your dog tried to kill my dog and you are responsible!”, she said she would talk to her husband and get back to me.

That was Tuesday October 27th. On Wednesday, October 28th I spoke to her husband, who told me he was just heading out to work and would call me when he got home.  I never heard back.

On Friday, October 30th I left a letter (I have a copy saved), a copy of the vet invoice, and a picture of Morgana after surgery in their mailbox.  I did not hear back.

On Wednesday, November 4th I left a tearful message on their answering machine telling them my dog was gone.  I never heard back.

I had said right from the beginning that I was trusting that they would do the right things.  But from their actions, or lack thereof, so far, I do not trust that they will. 

I don’t know what action you would take with this dog on dog aggression.  But I feel it is the right thing to do to report it to you.  At the very least, if you have it on file, if Ruby kills any other dogs, you will have a case history.

And then I gave the owners address and contact information.

Bastards.

3 Comments »

  1. This makes me sick.

    I’m sorry you had/have to go through this.

    Comment by Camevil — November 11, 2009 @ 9:30 pm | Reply

  2. Did you report it to the police? To animal control? You can sue in court. I’d post flyers in the neighborhood or put them in people’s mailboxes so they know to look out for that dog.

    Comment by Mary Meps — November 11, 2009 @ 10:08 pm | Reply

  3. I can’t subscribe to your blog on bloglines, and I forgot to checkin for a while. I just wanted to say that I’m sorry for your loss.

    Comment by fatinah — November 12, 2009 @ 7:00 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

