Shhhh… You Don't Know Me

October 28, 2009

Sigh…

Filed under: Daily Jabber,Struggle — Shhhh @ 2:13 am
Tags: , , ,

So I just got off the phone telling my mom about Morgana.  It’s actually her dog, that I’ve been fostering for nine years. She tells me that she would have put the dog down.  With the amount of pain she’s going to be in, and the fact that she’s already arthritic, she doesn’t think it’s fair to make her go through this.

I can’t say it didn’t cross my mind.  But I didn’t feel prepared to make that decision.  Based on a dog bite?  It’s not like it was a life threatening wound. 

Now, my rule is that anything over $500, and the dog goes to sleep, but I’m making them pay for it (even if I have to take them to court, but cross your fingers it doesn’t come to that).  So I didn’t feel that it was right to make that decision.  And besides that, how do you look a vet in the eye and tell them to kill your dog?  Because of a dog bite and because of money?

I’m sure I’ll have to face it one day… is it bad that I’m almost hoping that she doesn’t make it?  So I don’t have to be faced with that decision? 

See?  This is why I have a private blog.  There is no way I could say that in front of anyone I know.  They just don’t get it.  Yes, I love the dog, but bottom line, she’s a dog.  And with dogs we have the power to be merciful that we don’t have with humans.  We can stop their suffering.  And if it comes down to food for my family or the dogs medical bill, the kids win, hands down.  Does that make me cold and heartless?  I don’t think so.  The amount of tears would prove that it was not a heartless decision.  Just a practical one.

2 Comments »

  1. i 100% agree with this- and its what i said too. When we had the chickens we wouldnt pay more than 3 months of eggs would cost, and so when one got really sick *I* had to put her out of her misery, which was absolutly awful, but i would NOT pay £50 for them to kill her. £50 buys a lot for kids.

    Comment by Big_mummy — October 28, 2009 @ 9:09 am | Reply

  2. everyone has to do what suits their situation. I’m really sorry – what an awful experience that must have been – I was stressed just reading that story from your last post. We actually had a $500 rule for our cat. I can’t even tell you how much I cried when husband told me it was $472 at the end of the day when he got put down. The alternative had been $3000 – $6000 in surgery bills and tube feeding. At the time I worked full time. No brainer for our family – but not an easy choice by any stretch. It’s been almost 5 years and I still tear up thinking about that cat.

    We have vet insurance now for our dog. I know though that it wouldn’t make any decisions any easier. Sigh. Best wishes for your dog. And for you.

    Comment by fatinah — October 28, 2009 @ 1:26 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

