Shhhh… You Don't Know Me

October 19, 2009

Invisible

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shhhh @ 11:24 pm

My boss is getting plastic surgery to make her appear younger.  She confessed to me why.  She doesn’t want to be invisible.  She has looked around and has seen that as women age, they are dismissed.  She feels that as a successful business woman, hell if the world will dismiss her because of some wrinkles and droopy eyelids!

I know exactly what she means.  Only I experienced it while fat.  I knew what she was talking about, because I’ve lived it.  Only I had no idea what had happened until the weight started coming off, and people actually started talking to me.  Randomly.  And now that I’m “hot” people talk to me ALL THE TIME.

I do worry for my mental health when my age starts showing so much that I turn invisible again.  I’m an attention whore.  Always have been always will be.  If people don’t talk to me, I talk to them.  I force them to acknowledge me, laugh with me, and when I walk away, I know that they have a good impression of me.  For some reason this is so very important to me.

So what is going to happen when I’m old?  Will I be one of those cougars with too much makeup, trying to look younger, and just ending up looking like a joke that people feel sorry for and post pics of on sites like PoW?  Or will I be able to age gracefully?  Will my ego implode? 

Actually, one thing I’ve come to face is that I am always attractive (in my healthy body) to older men.  Okay, I don’t get the young ones attention anymore, but 28+ still wolf whistles me.  And as I get older, so will that demographic.  I’ll be okay with that.  I’m attracted to the look of older men anyways.  I’m attracted to the sexuality of the younger, but hey, whatayado?  I’m married anyways.  It’s not about hooking up, it’s about feeling sexy.

I wonder how much my sign has to do with it.  I am Scorpio after all.  LOLOL

2 Comments »

  1. LOL! I say be a cougar with too much makeup. Then you can get your own reality show and make gobs of money!

    Seriously though, I think we focus too much on our looks as we age. I have never seen anyone look younger that has had plastic surgery. To me,it just ends up looking like a “mask”. And that’s pretty much what it is, isn’t it? A way to mask what we really look like; who we really are. I believe what makes one look younger is confidence and happiness. And when you’re confident and happy, you’re definitely visible 🙂

    BTW, thanks sp much for your supportive comment about my race. It means the world to me 🙂

    hehe and I’m a Scorpio, too (although sometimes a Sag – right on the cusp)!

    Comment by Marisa (Trim The Fat) — October 20, 2009 @ 12:56 am | Reply

    • Must be why I love you so much, huh??

      Comment by Shhhh — October 20, 2009 @ 2:28 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

