Shhhh… You Don't Know Me

September 24, 2009

Great Workout

Filed under: Fitness,Food — Shhhh @ 11:37 pm

Nursing my quad, I did an interval training thing.  I set my interval timer to go off every 35 seconds.  I find this to be an excellent workout tool when I’m doing something that doesn’t involve music.  So I can watch my favourite shows and workout at a hard fast pace. 

My workout incorporated weights today, so my heartrate wasn’t high through the whole thing.  So not a lot of calories burned.  It was more about strength training and toning.

I say that because I have to let you in on a little secret… I don’t work out to lose weight.  I work out to eat.  You see, I track on NutriMirror.  And so I know how many calories I’ve eaten.  So if I want to have some garlic bread with my dinner, I have to move my ass and EARN it.  On those days I do a run, or soccer, or something that will increase my heartrate enough to burn a maximum amount of calories.  Cheeky, huh?  LOL

As I was saying, I did interval training.  Today that included weights for my arms with lots of pull up things and push up things.  I did plank, burpees, sit ups.  I skipped, did jumping jacks, ran in place.  I basically just moved repeatedly.  I definately sweated.  I sweated more today than I did playing soccer, but burned way less.  So I know I worked my muscles well.  And that will do me good in the long run as I age. 

So now I’m deciding what to do for dinner.  I know what I really SHOULD do.  I also know what I WANT to do.

But, like a good little bloggy, I’m going to do the right thing.  I’m not going to go to KFC and get the chicken I crave.  I’m going to go out in my garden and picking a sketti squash.  I’m making an oil free pesto with escargots to serve on top.  Maybe I’ll go to the store and get some garlic bread… we’ll see.

1 Comment »

  1. Haha I’m the exact same! I workout like a mad man so I can really ENJOY the food I eat, knowing I “earned” it. Enjoy your pesto and garlic bread 🙂

    Comment by Paul Baeyens — September 25, 2009 @ 12:34 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

