Shhhh… You Don't Know Me

September 18, 2009

My Weightloss Story

Filed under: Fitness,Journey,NutriMirror,Nutrition — Shhhh @ 1:55 am

I’ve never ever been a yoyo dieter, never tried losing weight, and was always a very happy person in my skin.  But at 5’2” and 208lbs I could feel my neck when I was laying down, and it bothered me.  I bought a pair of pants, and they were a size 22, but I had to make sure they had an elastic waist “just in case” (yep, in case I got FATTER!).  But it was when I was diagnosed with fatty liver disease that shame hit. 

I couldn’t even bring myself to tell my husband.  I mean, after all, if he knew I had FLD, he’d know I was FAT!  The HORROR!! 

My sister lovingly told me that she felt that Weight Watchers was something I should look into.  Having done the program successfully she knew that it would be a fit for me.  I decided I would do it. 

I purposefully took the words “try” and “hope” out of my vocabulary.  I didn’t “try” to lose weight, and I didn’t “hope” I could do it. I firmly believe that when you use those words, you are giving yourself permission to fail (well, I said I’d try, but it didn’t work).  I decided that I am accountable and responsible for my decisions and actions, no matter what they are.

I started with WW and used their systems to get myself from eating everything, within their guidelines, all the way to eating clean.  With them, I lost sixty pounds over a two year period.  I did it slowly, and I did it smartly, and I did it my way.

One thing that worked well for me, but is not advocated by… well, by anybody, really, is that I took one day a week off program. When I drove by McDonald’s on Wednesday and craved a Big Mac, I’d promise myself that if I still wanted it on Sunday, I’d have it.  And guess where I was every Sunday that first year?  Enjoying that Big Mac! 

Then my taste buds started changing.  I’ll never forget the last time I had fish and chips.  It was absolutely not worth it to me to have spent all those points to feel so disgusting and sick to my stomach.  Same story with movie popcorn (sob!). 

My body felt healthier eating clean.  My skin was healthier.  My hair, my nails… everything.  I lost 40lbs in the first year, and I lost a further 23 in the second, with eating clean. 

After a while, I was tracking my food on my own Excel sheets.  I couldn’t afford their program anymore, but I needed to be accountable for everything I put in my mouth.  I tried not tracking, and just relying on my body to tell me when I was satisfied (HA!), but that remained a struggle that I just kept losing. 

I started really noticing how different foods were affecting my body.  You see, at 208lbs, pretty much nothing affected me.  But at 147lbs, a cup of coffee at 8pm and I’m up all night, bright eyed and bushy tailed!  And sodium?  Can you say “bloat”?  I started reading deeper into outside forums, and shadowing blogs.  And I could see common themes and threads.  There was “apparently” more to this eating thing than just weight.  You have to watch “levels”.  Huh!  People watch these things?  Alright!  Now… to find a program that does this.  And it has to be free, because… well, because I can afford free, lol.

Back online I went.  I tried four different programs.  They were all good, but they each lacked something that I was looking for. I’d just get good and entrenched into a program, when a new (or, I should say, new to me) focus was introduced.  And I realized that there is WAY more to eating than just stuffing food down your gullet.  There’s this thing called “balance”.  I mean, come-on, we’ve all heard the term “eating a balanced diet” but for real??  Really?  How the HECK do people do THAT?

And then I found NutriMirror. (Insert choir music here)  I was actually on the DIFO in Craigslist and someone mentioned it.  I googled it (cuz I’m a google fiend) and found it.  I’m a total geek and love anything nutrition related, so I took the time to go through the tutorial.  Wow.  I was impressed.  It seemed to cover everything.  But then, so had the others.  I had invested hours and hours into them, and was not satisfied, so what’s one more, right?

I have been with NutriMirror for ten months as of this writing.  I’m still looking for that one thing that it is missing.  And I’m convinced that I’ll never find it. 

Since being on NutriMirror, my doctor has told me that I’m done with my weight loss journey.  I wanted to be healthy, and I’ve achieved it. 

Now, let me tell you something.  NOTHING is more scary than being told you are done.  For two years, I had been “on a weightloss journey”.  NOW who the hell was I???  And does this mean maintenance?  Omg omg omg omg… people FAIL on maintenance. 

Except… I have NutriMirror.  All I had to do was adjust my goals so they don’t include losing anymore and VOILA!!  My calories are all adjusted for me.  I still need to budget my food to reflect green in all the categories.  I still have to work out to earn more calories if I want to indulge.  Nothing has really changed except that I have more room to juggle all my good clean nutritious choices.  Huh!  What a concept!

Yes, I will have to track my intake for the rest of my life.  That is my reality.  The good news is that with NutriMirror, I am not only tracking my food, I’m educating myself, too.  Using NutriMirror, I know that my body is as healthy as I can make it. 

I set myself exercise goals, and I meet them.  I plan and stay within my caloric budget, and I shoot for green daily (98% of the time).  If I have a day where I indulge and eat out and it’s all red, I know looking at the front page that I’m healthy in general, and it keeps me from being crazy with my choices (in EITHER direction).  I’m not perfect (ssshhhh), but I know that I’m living a healthy lifestyle. 

 

And I’m using NutriMirror to do that.

2 Comments »

  1. Excellent story! Did you reach your goal at WW or did you leave prior? I wasn’t sure, but it looked like you left WW not at goal weight. What an accomplishment!! Woot! 🙂

    Comment by Theresa — September 18, 2009 @ 3:21 am | Reply

    • I left prior. I was at 40lbs lost when I left WW, and got to a total of 60lbs lost.

      Comment by Dee — September 18, 2009 @ 2:41 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

